For a second year in a row, a Canadian hairstylist has won the Sebastian Professional What’s Next Awards (WNA) in the Affiliate Artist category. Sabrina Cayer from Propagande Coiffure in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, took home the coveted prize last weekend in Dallas. Last year, Gianpaolo Colombo from the Hair After Salon in Toronto, was the big winner in this category.

Before the finalists were presented, there was a short and heartfelt tribute to Fabio Sementilli, highlighting his legacy at Sebastian through education. 


Carole Protat, Education Director Sebastian, and Salvatore Mauceri, North America, Senior Vice President, Professional Beauty & Global OPI at Coty Beauty

Close to 1,000 stylists from North America competed in this fifth edition of the What’s Next Awards, nine of which were shortlisted to participate in the live competition for the chance to show the world they truly are "what's next."

Before the big reveal, Sebastian Professional international top artists Diva Poulos, Omar Antonio, Marylle Koken and Anthony Cole delivered a series of amazing hairstyling presentations on stage. The evening ended with an electrifying performance by rock band Sixx:A.M.

“Having the opportunity to be on stage in such an important competition proves to me that with a little bit of imagination and a lot of determination, you can make all your dreams come true. I never felt that any of us were competing against each other. In fact, friendship and solidarity were always first. Because you’re really only in competition with yourself,” reflected Cayer with her trophy in hand. 

The panel for this year’s WNA included legendary stylist Robert Lobetta, 2016 Affiliated Artist WNA winner Canadian Stylist Gianpaolo Colombo, 2016 Professional Artist WNA winner Damaris Earlewine and Sergi Bancells of Estetica USA magazine.


The 2017 What’s Next Award Winners:

Affiliated Artist Category: Sabrina Cayer, Propagande Coiffure, Trois-Rivières, Quebec

Professional category: Laura Rocha, The Harlot Salon, Venice, California,

Student category: Beverly Iwuala, Ogle School, Stafford, Texas

People’s Choice Award: Luis Maldonado, Beyond Salon, Puerto Rico



You may also like...